Snow and Cedars

The cedar tree is the national emblem of Lebanon and is the centre-piece of the Lebanese flag. Cedar trees used to cover 70% of Lebanon, however nowadays due to excess deforestation they are a protected species and cover only around 7% of the country. Most of them are found in two protected groves, with some trees over 1000 years old.

We went to visit the biggest of these, the Chouf Cedar Reserve, which covers around 5% of Lebanon’s total land, back in January, to see the beautiful cedar trees in the snow.

23 thoughts on “Snow and Cedars

  1. It’s been ages since I read the “Epic of Gilgamesh.” Am I remembering correctly that there was a reference to Lebanon’s cedars in it? Drat—I have to look this up!

    • I used to think of desert when I thought of Lebanon too, but it’s actually amazingly green. Unlike Syria, which is practically all desert. No wonder they were annoyed when it became a seperate country!

  2. What beautiful photos. This post made me think of just recently deceased godfather – he was Lebanese and heavily involved with a group called the Cedar Club. I never really thought about what the cedar tree was or how iconic it was to him and his people until seeing your post but now I’m all misty eyed. Thanks for the evocative post :)

  3. Breathtaking place.love the picture of you in the tree you look like a forest fairy. Everitte and you are so adorable too. Glad that the country is protecting some of the trees. :)

  4. I can send you a picture of some garbage piles crawling with street cats next to a palm tree and that would be Cairo’s answer to these photos.

    I wish I were somewhere they had delicious food.

    • Don’t they have delicious food in Cairo? They must do! Don’t worry, I had to go a long way from Beirut to find this kind of nature. Beirut has precisely one ‘public garden’ and it’s been closed to the public for the last 10 years!
      Loved your post on eccentric ex-pats who choose to live in the Middle East. So true, it made me laugh.

Please leave me a comment - I prefer dialogue to monologue

