Beirut’s Street Art

I am in the process of researching an article about Beirut’s graffiti, and been photographing street art all around the city for the past few weeks. Of the first things that struck me about Beirut when I arrived was the volume and quality of the street art, which is not only in the industrial areas of the city such as Quarantina, but also in the richer and more upmarket areas, such as Hamra and Achrefieh. As a picture is worth 1000 words I’ll let these images speak for themselves.

A man in army uniform holds a sign reading 'I love corruption' in Arabic

Vibrant colours on a temporary wall, Gemmayzeh

"The Ministry of Health warns that thinking leads to serious and fatal diseases"

Fresh fruit with a side of advice

Cool jazz player, Hamra

Construction site, Saniyah

Arabic calligraphy near Gemmayzeh

Beirut 4 seasons mandala

The perils of genetic modification

"When will the civil war end?"

Peering over the graffiti, Hamra

16 thoughts on “Beirut’s Street Art

  1. These are fantastic! I’ve actually been hearing a lot about graffiti and street art in Beirut. Hopefully, I’ll get to check these out in person soon. The one with the green men is especially interesting. They look digitally rendered.

    I actually just did my own post on some of the street art I’ve documented in my travels last year: http://bit.ly/wIajLd

    • Thanks for your comment, and I enjoyed your post so thanks for linking. The graffiti in Berlin is amazing. I hope you do get a chance to come and see them in person, it’s definately worth a trip!

  2. I especially love the Ministry of Health one, hehe. Thanks for posting these! I’d seen a few around the industrial center (near Beirut Art Center, where I worked) but hadn’t seen any of these.

  3. Pingback: Healing Images – Beirut’s Graffiti | Bringing You Beirut

  4. It’s fascinating that street art flourishes in places of (past or present) oppression. The photos are great and I liked the interviews in your second post about graffiti. Have you met any women graffiti artists?

    • Thanks for your comment, I’m glad you liked the post. Apart from Steffi (who is half-German half-Iraqi) I haven’t met any other female street artists. It seems to be a mostly male-dominated area here.

  5. Salam
    My name is massoud Kowsari from Iran. I am studying graffiti in Beirut and would like to find some cues for interview with famous graffiti writers in Beirut. Is there someone to help me. I wort a book on Persian graffiti in Tehran and like to extend my knowledge on Beirut’ graffiti. Now I am in Beirut and like to see the related peoples.
    My email address is: kosari63@yahoo.com
    p.s. your site is very interesting

Please leave me a comment - I prefer dialogue to monologue

